• WSSDA Awards 23 School Boards Recognized as "Boards of Distinction"

    The Lakewood School Board of Directors was recognized at the annual Washington State School Directors Association Annual Conference held in Spokane, November 14-17, 2012 as a Board of Distinction for the second year in a row.

    Each year, the Washington State School Directors Association's (WSSDA) honors outstanding school boards that demonstrate understanding of their leadership role and follow through on their responsibilities, while showing concern for the educational excellence and equity for all students. Boards selected for this prestigious award have demonstrated growth and exemplary performance in:

    • Effective board governance practices.

    •  A focus on educational excellence and equity for all students .

    •  Creating conditions for student and staff success.

    • Commitment to continuous improvement and accountability.

    Lakewood Board of Directors were one of twenty three boards recently selected and recognized at the annual WSSDA Conference for this award. Congratulations!

    LWSD Board L to R: Director Oscar Escalante, Superintendent
    Dennis Haddock, Director Kelly Allen, Student Representative Taylor Studzinski, Student
    Representative Zaya Tsengelmaa, Director Larry
    Bean, Director Greg Jensen, and Director Ken Christiansen